I'm Swedish...and speak English with three accentsBack to the top

I get to hear I'm from everywhere but Sweden. In Switzerland, cause I spoke English (then not with british accent) they guessed in flollowing order...England, America, Australia...

"No, I'm from Sweden for the 100th time"
"But, your hair is not blonde"

Hmm....

When I came to the US I spoke with a British accent since I just before lived in England for a while and got this order:

My professor in politicas talks about England and says "you guys", when referring to England as it was my home country. I think she later on sort of figured I'm from Sweden instead, cause I might have gotten a bit defensive when she mentioned that Sweden, and some other countries ofcourse, are freeloathing on NATO.

Then a guy in my English class got a bit confused when I spoke Swedish with my Swedish classmate.
"You're from the same place, I thought you were from Australia"

My new Asian friend V from politic class started talking to me some classes ago and as we stood there chatting away and she thought I was American the whole time, til I said something about F1 student.

Today in English class: "Love your shoes, where did you get them?"
"Thanx, Barrats, London"
"London?...but you are from Sweden right?"

They are starting to get it...

People noticing that I am from another country besides England, Australia and America mostly reacts the same as shown above..."but you're not blonde"...take a step outside the box for a while and ask yourself...is it actually possible for a whole nation to be blonde? But I don't blame them...walking around school I can see who's Swedish on clothes and stuff and most of them are actually blondes...is it only blondes leaving Sweden or what?




Kommentarer
Postat av: Daniel

Gud va duktig du på engelska!!!

2010-03-30 @ 12:38:18
URL: http://danielfagerholm.webblogg.se/
Postat av: Melinda Dalin

Hejsan!

Vill du vinna 2000 spänn att shoppa för på nelly.se?

Rösta på min bikini, blir den det vinnande bidraget så kör jag en utlottning på min blogg där vinnaren får 2000 kr att handla för på Nelly.se! Kul va :) Mouhaha.



Länka min bikini på din blogg och lämna en kommentar i min blogg, så vet jag om du är med i tävlingen :)

Ha en trevlig kväll!



Rösta här: http://nelly.com/designyourbikini/?bikiniuser=FQKGdXvq0dKiEWsB3FYCdJppjQ30qK0vaJz2#bikiniGallery

2010-03-30 @ 22:26:25
URL: http://melindalin.blogg.se/
Postat av: TT

It's because you're in LA that people don't understand where you're from. I'm from Wisconsin, and lived in LA for nearly 10 years. About 95% of the people in LA had never heard of Wisconsin, Minnesota, or Michigan. People thought I was from a different country because I "talked funny." Please don't think everyone in the US is as uninformed as some of the people you are encountering in LA. The demographic is not representative of the US as a whole.



I even had one of my friends from San Diego tell me that snow wasn't real, and it was only made for movies!!



Good luck with classes!



T

2011-01-26 @ 19:12:23

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
bloglovin
RSS 2.0