I'm on a horse...Back to the top

(Assig. 2 till com class) I had a hard time finding something to analyze this week, because I want to write about something that actually caught my eye, something that makes you remember a while after you’ve seen or read it. So I thought, have I seen anything like that? Yes! A commercial that really caught my eye a while back was the Old Spice commercial. No, not because there was a ripped guy in a towel :P

I usually ignore commercials when I watch Tv, but this one had me hooked. Let’s break it down! A ”good looking” guy comes out off the shower in a towel and says ”Hello ladies, look at your man, now look at me...sadly your man isn’t me, but he could smell like he is me”. The commercial sort of states that the man in the commercial is a man we want our men to be. Then he pulls up the perfume Old Spice that looks like a Tetra Pak wine. There was no time to think about that, the commercial continues.

 

The scene changes quickly. ”Look down, back up, where are we? On a boat with the man your man could smell like.” The perfume turns into the tickets to the thing you love, then to diamonds (a girls best friend!?) and back to the perfume. ”Anything is possible when your man smells like Old Spice and not a lady”. So when your man smells like old spice he can afford tickets and diamonds? The commercial suddenly represents classy, appealing to a girls ”desires” beyond the man. It also sort of states that all other perfumes for men aren’t manly enough.

 

Then from nowhere he is holding the perfume and says ”I’m on a horse” and he is sitting backwards on a white horse. What? Why? Because it’s something so random and out of place that it’s funny and weird and it made me laugh and remember the commercial. The commercial was fast and kept changing, but somehow I was with the whole time and I knew what the commercial was about. Some commercials have a way of just being witty, keeping your attention, but often I miss the product. The Old Spice commercial succeeded in keeping my attention, knowing what the product was, made me laugh, remember and post it on my facebook with a LOL.


So would I buy the product or make ”my man” buy it? Probably not! The design on the perfume wasn’t appealing and the name ”old” and ”spice” are two words I wouldn’t associate with a perfume that smells good. But maybe, if I ran into the product I would definitely smell it just for fun because I seen the commercial and maybe the smell would convince me. The message is clear, your man ain’t a man, ain´t the man, ain´t classy enough if he doesn’t smell like Old Spice.


Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
bloglovin
RSS 2.0