Drink, give, do goodBack to the top

(I min kommunikationsklass så ska vi blogga och analysera media och dess reklam en gång i veckan på wordpress, jag tänkte att jag publicerar det här också, hoppas professorn tycker det blev ok :/ )

I went to the school Cafeteria to buy water and found that there were different brands to chose from . Suddenly I realized that my choice of water mattered. All this because of the water GIVE with their appealing texts on the bottles. So I bought the bottle Give love to protect our environment, because especially that text got through to my councusness. The picture inside the bottled showed a man watering a tree as an image of our planet.

“Natural spring water on a mission…Give love is all about our everyday choices each one of us makes to help protect our natural enviorment…recycle…join us and give a little love back to your piece of the planet…you just gave 10 cents to a local charity protecting the environment.”

These bottles with their different charity messages can appeal to many different people. Nature was mine, but maybe breast cancer would be your reason to buy GIVE water. ”Give love, drink give, do good.” Don’t we all want to do good? I set out to buy water and now I can do good doing so? The message is clear, the companies values are clear and it’s constructed to appeal to our do good will, maybe even guilt or passion. From this they will profit and give a small amount to a local charity.

So I guess I gave this water purchase a second thought, but how about I give it a third. After my do good purchase I drank the bottle in five minutes, knowing I had to buy another bottle later on. That will make me dispose of at least two plastic  bottles a day and I’m supposed to drink a couple of liters for my own good. Such paradox! I bought the bottle to help the environment, but instead I just gave the environment more plastic to deal with. Even thou it might have been better buying this  GIVE bottle, bottled water can never be enviormental friendly. As a Swede used to drinking water from the tap I have always thought that clean tap water in I-countries was given. Here selling water is a business, in Sweden it would be like trying to sell sand in Sahara.

A call for clean drinking water in the tap is the only way to deal with that environmental issue. Still I’m proud that SMC has deliberately made the choice to have the GIVE water in the cafeteria.


Kommentarer
Postat av: Nina

MVG plus min vän;)

2010-09-12 @ 00:55:09

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
bloglovin
RSS 2.0